Symantec Endpoint Security 11 kills your OS, attacking rastls.dll

Hi all,

I’ve been having a real hard time lately, not being able to setup my VPN connection from within Windows XP Professional x64 Edition. I though it was x64 related, as it turns out, it wasn’t that at all.I had installed Symantec Endpoint Security 11 client before, but wasn’t convinced that it protected my computer enough, so I uninstalled it. Seems like they didn’t really have clue when programming the uninstaller, as it corrupted my registry a bit.

Problem is that the uninstaller was not properly coded for x64 Windows…
So it attacked my registry (thinking it was doing some good stuff), by point the rastls.dll to the SysWOW64 instead of the system32 subfolder of Windows…

How to fix:
Start regedit.
Replace all occurencies of C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\rastls.dll with C:\WINDOWS\system32\rastls.dll.

The Event Viewer’s first error reported was:

Point to Point Protocol engine was unable to load the C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\rastls.dll module. C:\WINDOWS\SysWOW64\rastls.dll is not a valid Win32 application.

I hope this helps anyone fighting this problem out there.

Source: Wilders Security Forums

Leave a Reply

