Curl and why I couldn’t load it on Windows under PHP

Hi all,

As always I try to provide some personal solutions to problems occuring to me by the utterly stupid software not talking to me correctly.

The symptoms

Upon PHP startup:

[13-Jan-2009 22:33:56] PHP Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '*\php_curl.dll' - The specified module could not be found.
in Unknown on line 0

For the Magento E-Commerce system this extension needed to be enabled in PHP.

The Suggested Solutions

As suggested everywhere on the net (including on php.net):

Uncomment extension=php_curl.dll. (This step is still required)
Copy libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll to C:\WINDOWS\system32.
Also (other sources) make sure you have php_curl.dll in the php/ext dir.

As my PHP install was pretty bare (only MySQL and some others, # < 5), I downloaded the latest PHP ZIP package (v 5.2.8.8). My version was 5.2.6.6, and some source claimed that this could have been a problem – indeed it IS related to this issue, but not completely.

The Solution That Worked for Me

I got the libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll somewhere off the net – big mistake. I also found it included in the PHP 5.2.8.8 distribution. So I just copied those to C:\WINDOWS\system32 and look at that, it worked. So be sure to get those files right!

Leave a Reply

